Fingerprinting is available at the Sheriff's Office Records lobby by appointment only 9am - 4pm.
Please call 983-7141 ext. 7211 to schedule an appointment for Fingerprinting.
Effective December 1, 2015
Concealed Pistol License Information
To apply for a new CPL, you must be a Berrien County resident and you should follow these steps.
Obtain a Concealed Pistol License Guide (PDF) containing the application form from the County Clerk’s office at:
The Vital Records Office at the Berrien County Administration Center
701 Main Street
St. Joseph, MI 49085
The County Clerk’s Office at the Niles South County Building
1205 N. Front Street
Niles, MI 49120
Complete the mandatory training class and receive a certificate.
Bring the completed, unsigned application form, your training class certificate, a valid driver’s license, and $100 application fee to the County Clerk’s office. Photos are no longer necessary. If you check the box on the application to be exempt, you must show proof that you are eligible.
Once the $100 application fee is paid, take your receipt to the Berrien County Sheriff’s Department in St. Joseph for fingerprinting and a background check. (Fingerprints are taken Tuesday through Friday, 8:30 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. for a $15 fee).
A background / reference check will be conducted on each applicant. Once you are approved by MSP, your permit will be mailed to you. Expect approximately 45 days for processing time.
Renew Your Permit
To renew your permit, you can either re-apply in person, online or by mail. When you receive your renewal letter in the mail, it will tell you when your license expires, how long you have to apply, the application requirements, what your new pin number is, along with the fee. The application and additional information are available at www.michigan.gov/firearms . On the application, you must certify that you have completed a minimum of three hours reviewing the required training and that you have spent a minimum of one hour on the firing range during the six months immediately preceding the submission of the CPL renewal application. If your license expired over a year ago, you will need a new training certificate and fingerprinting. Please expect an approximate 30 - 45 day processing time for all permits.
To renew in person, you will submit your application to the County Clerk’s Office along with a valid driver’s license and a $115.00 renewal fee in the county in which you reside.
To apply online, visit www.michigan.gov/cplrenewal. Use the CPL Renewal Pin number located at the bottom of your renewal letter that you received in the mail, to begin the application process. Online applications may be paid by credit card or e-check. Also notice there is a time-frame in the letter in which you are eligible to renew online.
To apply by mail, your renewal letter will tell you where to send your completed application along with your $115.00 check which will be made payable to the State of Michigan.
According to the Firearms Laws of Michigan, Section 28.425d, if your CPL application was disqualified or revoked by the Michigan State Police, and you received a notice of statutory disqualification or revocation from the County Clerk’s Office, you can appeal it by filing a Claim of Appeal.
The Claim of Appeal Form (PDF) can be filed with the Civil Circuit Court Clerk located on the third floor of the Berrien County Courthouse at 811 Port Street in St. Joseph. Present this form along with 3 copies to get the appeal process started. The appeal of the notice of statutory disqualification shall be determined by a review of the record for error.
Michigan Concealed Pistol License Law
For more information, read the Michigan Concealed Pistol License Law (PDF).
Visit the Michigan State Police page.